Serpentine Pavilion 2016

Hello!

Its been a while since I’ve posted on this blog but now I finally have some free time to do more exploring! So recently, as you may have guessed by the title of this post, I went to visit the new installation of the pavilion in Kensington Gardens. It is pretty awesome and it just gets better every year! (See previous pavilions here.)

image

I believe the concept of the design is kept really simple, yet it adds a dramatic structure to the open space which is what I find the most interesting of the design process in architecture. Having recently completed work experience in an architecture firm, it was great to be able to learn more about the thoughts in the design process such as incorporating natural light as well as making use of the space and etc…

All in all, it’s really cool and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It’s made up of several fibreglass boxes stacked up high to create a cave – like structure.

Finally, on my way home, I stumbled upon a pastry shop selling French eclairs and choux pastries created by a three Michelin star pastry chef. For any pastry lovers, check out Maître Choux in South Kensington. Oh and while you’re at it, you should get me one too… I’m happy to take it! Haha

image

Merci,

Alice Explores

 

Leave a Reply

